Day 25

Day 25 is the last day of the fourth week at home with Henry; by far the fastest month of my life. It has been a great four weeks. Trying at times, but worth it. The toughest job I will ever love. Day 25 was probably the worst so far.

Everything was going well and we had a particularly good feed around 2:00 pm. However, around 4:00 pm, I decided to offer Henry a taste of avocado. I gave him two very small tastes with no reaction worth noting. However, within a few minutes, he decided he was hungry and it was time, but he started moving his head from side to side in a weird way, and suddenly I convinced myself that the movement was not voluntary. We stumbled through the 4:00 pm feeding and he continued periodically to move his head from side to side. Needless to say, I did not sleep much Friday night and I would not sleep much Saturday night either. I just kept thinking to myself: did Henry find a new way to express himself and his frustration, or did he have a neurological disorder that was starting to rear its ugly head. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

