Spider Monkey

I wish I had an established post dedicated to nicknames because I am not sure that I have a record of every last one and there have been many. Last night, another nickname was coined.

Bath time has (mostly) been one of my favorite times of the day. Henry has traditionally loved bath time too, though recently, he has started to protest towel time and instead does everything he can to remain in the tub. I lift him up to his legs, but he refuses to stand in protest. Henry does not like to lay down as we towel him off just as he does not like to lay down to get his diaper changed. He protests both vigorously, though I feel like he is coming around a little.

Last night, Henry decided to try another approach. Henry stood on command and then jumped in to my arms. He then crawled up my torso before wrapping his legs around me. Out came the nickname: Spider Monkey!

I am actually surprised it took so long to assign this nickname. Henry loves to climb and does so whenever he can. He is getting so good at pulling himself up. Stairs have always come easy, but now he is almost ready to pull himself on to our couch. He has mastered the art and science of getting off the couch. It is only a matter of time before he is able to get on to the couch.

Leave a Reply

