Da-i

Henry has long used two forms of Daddy.  The first was the traditional Daddy and the second involved a more pronounced second syllable or Da-Di.  The Da-Di was used for emphasis generally or to express frustration with me.

But both forms seems to have disappeared in favor of another form which includes a silent dd.  Instead of Daddy, it sounds like Da-i.

Incidentally, Henry still pronounces the mm in Mommy.

_________

A few more phrases that Henry has used lately with thought on the context.

Coming right up…

I am not sure where coming right up came from but he must have heard that from someone.

Oh, not again…

Not much to say about this.  Henry has discovered that there are phrases that make us laugh.  He waits for the laugh, and then joins in on the fun.

I see a pick-up truck on this map…

Henry said this while helping me assemble a toy rental truck from Home Depot.  I am not sure where he heard the phrase pick-up truck.  Henry knows the word instructions, but I never would have guess he knew the word map.

What are you laughing about?

Not much to say about this either.

What the fuck just happened?

Henry and I were watching a video of a remote control airplane crash.  It was clear that the owner of the plane was not happy when his plane clipped a helicopter and crashed in to the landing strip.  Henry got the sentiment right, but I did not expect to hear the third word.  In fact, I had to ask him what he said.

No

Henry is way more hard headed than I ever expected.  He is not afraid to say no regardless of the request.  Tonight, I asked him to go upstairs.  He must have said no 10 times before I finally gave up.

Leave a Reply

